2 Comments
Feb 29Liked by Max Kucharski

Hello Max, I don’t do anything special for February 29. In fact I don’t remember what I did last week, much less what I did 4 years ago, 😂. Since my retirement my days flow with my mood: ex: cleaning mood, napping mood, doing laundry mood, eating ice cream mood, have a cocktail mood, traveling mood, reading mood, etc. I don’t even know what day of the week it is, unless I have an appointment or something planned. Regarding February 29, 2020, I was possibly teaching my 5th graders (that’s why I had only two FB posts from that day) . I was already turning in my paperwork for retirement and I was just trying to finish the school year in the best way possible. Little did I know that March 13, 2020 would be my last day of presencial school. Then we had to scramble to create a way to continue teaching at distance. My school was in an area of low income families, most didn’t have internet, many didn’t own a tablet or a computer and there was no solution but to hand packets of photocopies with work in all the subjects. It was a strange time. On May 20, 2020 I was officially retired. My coworkers told me the nightmare of teaching in 2021, trying to learn to use diverse platforms, help parents to guide their kids and feeling that online teaching is not good for elementary school students. However, there was no alternative, because the entire world was going through a pandemic.

Expand full comment
author

Thanks for sharing, Ines! It's sad you couldn't finish the year in person. I heard stories about some kids in my country "disappearing" from schools for months in 2020 and 2021 thanks to having no internet or electronic devices plus liberal approach to missing attendance during first and second lockdown, so I agree these were tricky times for learning. Love to know now you can spend most of the time following your heart!

Expand full comment